Weekend in Paradise

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again (oh so many times). Downtown San Diego is my favorite place in the world. It is absolutely impossible to not enjoy yourself here.

SD is the most perfect city for running. I had a short 3 mile shakeout run this morning. I promptly got carried away snapping some pictures of the wonderful view. Yeah, I was THAT runner 😉 I probably looked like a tacky tourist, but ohhh well!

Don’t you wish you had this running scenery all the time? I AM going to live here some day. I will do everything in my power to get accepted into SDSU!


Not surprisingly, I got a little distracted. My three miles was up WAY before I returned to the hotel. So, I had a nice little walk back. No complaints though, it was beautiful 🙂


My dad and I went to a local coffee shop for breakfast and some homework time! San Diego coffee shops are amazing places to study. I could get used to this when I’m in college.

I don’t know if it’s just the mood the city puts me in, but this was some of the best coffee I’ve tasted. I had a little bit too much, as always.

Of course, I couldn’t pass up a San Diego Acai Bowl. YUM.

Because I’m a bottomless pit teenager, my stomach was grumbling again a couple of hours later. A bagel with cream cheese made the perfect snack. Gotta carbo load!


Later on, we headed to the expo! Rock n Roll Race Expos are the absolute coolest. Excuse my humidified San Diego hair.

I was given a bag with healthy and natural samples of mambo foods! They have some pretty neat products! The snacks helped keep me fueled throughout the day.

Several free samples later, we headed out and grabbed some lunch at Jimbo’s. Just like Whole Foods, they had a well stocked salad bar– right up my alley. I loaded up on those veggies and nutrients!

Then we did the typical tourist type stuff and walked around the Gaslamp District! We stopped in an awesome Reebok store. They were giving away cards with exercises on them. I’m always looking for new things to include in my workout routine! I may have to form a Will’s bootcamp sometime soon 😉


We finished off our night the right way– with a carb loading sesh. The Old Spaghetti Factory did an amazing job at providing my pre race meal: minestrone soup, bread, and wheat pasta with marinara sauce!

I am currently typing this at 8pm. Only 11 hours until the gun goes off! When this is posted, I will just be starting my run. I am SO psyched! Send some good lucks in my direction! I’ll be sure to take many pictures and have a race review tomorrow. Enjoy your Sunday 🙂

How about you?

  • What is your favorite city?
  • Do you carry your phone when you run in races?
  • Did anyone else race this weekend? What races?

Leave a comment